Ask Coach Taylor, How Can A Player Be Granted A 6th Year Of Eligibility?

Coach Taylor, I’ve heard of some rare cases of a player being granted a 6th year of eligibility. How does this happen?

Great question! The NCAA rules specify that a player must have lost 2 seasons out of their control in order to be granted a sixth season. This is not automatically given, and the school has to appeal to the NCAA for this second redshirt to happen. Unfortunately this is a case to case issue that the school must handle directly with the NCAA to make this happen.

You can always send your recruiting questions to askcoachtaylor@ncsasports.org

You can also get your questions answered directly by contacting an NCSA Recruiting Coordinator at 866-579-6272

Comments
  1. Just desire to say your article is as surprising. The clearness for your post is just cool and i can think you are a professional on this subject. Fine together with your permission allow me to seize your RSS feed to keep updated with impending post. Thanks a million and please continue the gratifying work.