Live Chat

2011 Tom Lemming Banquet

Last night Tom Lemming and NCSA held the Annual Tom Lemming All Area Banquet to honor Chicago Lands top football players of 2011. So who is Tom Lemming and why is he honoring these student athletes?

Tom Lemming remains one of the leading experts on college football recruiting and high school talent. Tom Lemming, a Chicago native, got his start as a stringer for suburban Chicago weeklies covering high school football games. In 1978, he began scouting football prospects, logging his findings in a newsletter he circulated to college coaches and fans alike. Tom Lemming was called “the mailman” as he delivered information about the best recruits to hundreds of college coaches and football fanatics by personally interviewing and scouting players from coast to coast.

The Chicago Sun-Times sponsored the all-area banquet honoring prep football standouts from the Chicago Land Area for two decades, however eventually chose to no longer sponsor this idea. Tom Lemming decided to step in to sponsor the event, since he was already a large part of selecting the student athletes.

The event was held at Galleria Marchetti who made a wonderful meal for the families to enjoy. The NCSA events team did a wonderful job organizing and coordinating the event and the night turned out to be a huge success. The 2011 banquets honored speaker last night was Notre Dame Football coach Brian Kelly.Brian Kelly Speech Below are the athletes who were honored at last night’s event, listed by name, grad year and high school. Special honorees include Athlete of the year Jordan Westerkamp a senior from Moniti, who lead his team to a state championship and has committed to the University Of Nebraska.  Coach Randall Townsel Hales Franciscan High was honored with the Ath-Lead-Er-Ship award for giving back to his community and empowering leaders through sports.Randall Townsel Speech Lastly Coach John Ivlow from Bolingbrook high school was named Coach of the Year after leading his team to a 14-1 record and a state championship win.Coach of the Year Speech

First Last YR High School
Willie  Allen Allen 2012 Hales
Jordan Diamond Diamond 2012 Simeon
Brandon Greer 2012 Mt. Carmel
Malin Jones 2012 Joliet Catholic
Antonio Morrison 2012 Bolingbrook High School
Michael Panico 2012 Carmel
Tommy Schutt 2012 Glenbard West
Anthony Standifer 2012 Crete Monee
Ryan Ward 2012 Providence Catholic
Jordan Westerkamp 2012 Montini
Matt Alviti 2013 Maine South
Aaron Bailey 2013 Bolingbrook High School
Caleb Bailey 2013 Romeoville
Khairi Bailey 2013 Morgan Park
Josh Baldus 2013 Palatine
Jalen Banks 2013 Thornton
Fred Beaugard 2013 Montini
Jesse Bobbit 2013 Palatine
Kyle Bosch 2013 St. Francis
Kerron Bragg 2013 Leo
Corey Davis 2013 Wheaton Warrenville South
Ruben Dunbar 2013 Glenbard West
Danny Friend 2013 Morris
Colin Goebel 2013 Naperville North
Matthew Harris 2013 Lyons
Blake Holder 2013 Streamwood
Ty Isaac 2013 Joliet Catholic
Kendall Johnson 2013 Glenbard West
Camden Kuksa 2013 Palatine
Jake Lemming 2013 Lemont
Mickey Macius 2013 St. Viator
Nathan Marcus 2013 Glenbard West
Matt Page 2013 Brother Rice
Jamaal Payton 2013 Proviso West
Ethan Pocic 2013 Lemont
Cole Reyes 2013 Schaumburg
John Serio 2013 Palatine
Chris Streveler 2013 Marian Central Catholic
LaQuan Treadwell 2013 Crete-Monee
Jordan Watson 2013 Hales
Nick Allegretti 2014 Lincoln-Way East
Shane Evans 2014 Prairie Ridge
Jake Godfrey 2014 Providence Catholic
Ryan Graham 2014 Wheaton Warrenville South
Romel Hill 2014 Richards
Justin Jackson 2014 Glenbard North
Jamarco Jones 2014 De La Salle
Jake Kolbe 2014 Naperville Central
Nyles Morgan 2014 Crete Monee
Sadarriss Patterson 2014 Schaumburg
Devin Pitts 2014 Homewood Flossmoor
Mylan Reeves 2014 Homewood Flossmoor
Arnold Shead 2014 North Chicago
Stacey Smith 2014 Schaumburg
Demetrius Streeter 2014 Proviso West
Nile Sykes 2014 Oak Park- River Forest
Clayton Thorson 2014 Wheaton North
Nic Weishar 2014 Marist
Mikale Wilbon 2014 De La Salle
Matthew Zolper 2014 Schaumburg
Miles Boykin 2015 Providence Catholic
Dyrrah Christon 2015 Bishop McNamara Catholic
Nolan Dean 2015 Neuqua Valley

Once again thank you to Tom Lemming for keeping this event an important part of Chicago, as well as to NCSA and founder Chris Krause for the sponsorship, to all of the athletes, coaches and their families.

About the author
Aaron Sorenson