Eli Stalzer ‘12 Recruiting Profile

  • Mater Dei High School
  • Brea, CA
  • Men's Basketball
College Coach? Click here to view all of Eli's information.
Eli Stalzer's Men's Basketball Recruiting Profile
Height:
6'3"
Weight:
195
Age:
26
Prim. Position:
SG
Sec. Position:
PG
  • 2010-2011 Highlights

Personal Statement

Check out my website at EliStalzer.com for game film and more information.

Hello, My name is Eli Stalzer. I am currently a senior attending Mater Dei High School. This is my 4th year playing as a combo guard on the varsity basketball team and 2nd year as a starter. I'm 6'3, have nearly a 7' wingspan, weigh 195 lbs. and have a 3.5 GPA. My goal for college is to play as a combo guard at the highest level possible at a school that values team play - runs controlled transition basketball and plays team defense. I am open as far as location or school size but want a school that will provide a solid education and an opportunity for me to develop my game and excel on the court. What I will bring to the team is outstanding effort, knowledge of the game, solid defense, a high shooting percentage, composure under pressure and a burning, contagious desire to win. Addition Information I've loved and played basketball for as long as I can remember. Basketball has given me many opportunities to travel and experience different things. In 6th grade, my club team won the 12U Nationals in Virginia Beach. When I was 14, I had the opportunity to travel to China to play for a USA team. It was great to experience the Chinese culture and be able to compete with kids from China. I have traveled all over the country with my high school and club teams.

 


As a freshman, Mater Dei was ranked #1 in the nation for 15 weeks straight. During that time, I contributed by coming in as 6th man off the bench. We won the City of Palms Tournament that year and I had several key shots that made a difference. My sophomore year, we won the CIF Division 1 Regional Championship and I again played a significant amount of time and contributed to the team’s success.

 



I am most proud of being the co-captain of our California Division I State Championship team in 2011. We were a very young, inexperienced team and Coach McKnight looked to me to provide leadership on and off the court. We placed 3rd at the City of Palms, went 32-3 for the season, and won State. I started all but a few games (due to injury early in the season) and was a major factor in our success. I was named All Conference and received the Coaches Award. I am looking forward to my Senior year, again as team captain, and with the goal of winning State again. I have been very blessed with great people to guide me along my journey. I would not have the basketball IQ I have today without the wisdom of my current and previous coaches and their passion to teach the game of basketball the right way. They have inspired me to want to play the game as a team sport and not just as an individual. I find greater satisfaction by making an extra pass for an easy shot than to force a tough shot and make it look pretty. They also taught me to focus on defense and that has become one of my strengths. Lastly, I learned very early to always play hard and give 100%, whether in a game, at practice, or in the classroom. Besides basketball, my other passion in life is playing piano. I've played piano for almost 11 years and would like to continue studying the art in college. The majors I am interested in vary between musical composition, arrangement, music technology, music management or general business. I play almost every day, some days I will sit down and start to play and before I know it I've been playing for hours. I enjoy playing and performing all genres of music, but the most challenging and enjoyable is classical. The largest number of people I have ever played for was last year when I played for about 3000 students and faculty during a school rally. This year I will be performing for the Nike Extravaganza which will be for a packed gym of 3500. When I'm not playing basketball or piano I usually like to spend my time relaxing, hanging out with friends and family or going to movies. I enjoy going to the beach, playing beach volleyball and golfing with my dad and brothers.

Athletics

Eli has not yet added athletic information.

Academics

Grades

This information is unavailable to unknown [or unregistered] users

Test Scores

This information is unavailable to unknown [or unregistered] users

High School Information

High School:
Mater Dei High School
State:
CALIFORNIA
Enrollment:
2049

Academic Accomplishments

Honors Classes:
Yes. Honors Algebra Honors Geometry Honors Biology
Registered with the NCAA Eligibility Center?
Yes

Awards, Achievements and Activities

  • Award
    • Honor Roll
  • Activity
    • Special Olympics Team Leader
  • Activity
    • Plays piano
  • Activity
    • Theater

My Info

Contact Information

This information is unavailable to unknown [or unregistered] users

Mailing Address

This information is unavailable to unknown [or unregistered] users

Statistics

 
 

RECRUITING STARTS HERE


Already a Member?

The Largest College Recruiting Network

Get Exposure with college programs. College coaches search for recruits on NCSA’s platform 710,634 times in 2018.

Get Discovered by college coaches. NCSA athlete’s profiles were viewed 5.4 million times by college coaches in 2018.

Get Recruited. Find out what coaches are viewing your profile and get matched with the right choices.

GET STARTED FOR FREE